NCNMLG Publications
Connections Blog

Facebook LindedIn Group Account Follow Us on Twitter

Ysabel Bertolucci Award for Professional Excellence
*previously known as: NCNMLG Award for Professional Excellence

The NCNMLG Award for Professional Excellence was established in 1991, and the first award was presented to Ysabel Bertolucci in October of 1992.

The purpose of this award is to recognize members for significant contributions to NCNMLG and to health sciences librarianship. Criteria for the award include the following:

  1. Candidate’s contributions are significant towards the advancement of health sciences librarianship through the endeavors of NCNMLG.

  2. Candidate's contributions may include, but are not limited to, service to the group, publications, presentations, and projects.

  3. Candidate is a member of NCNMLG at the time of nomination and has been a member for at least two years. Recipients receive a check for $200.00 and a commemorative plaque.

Please submit your nominations via email to Claire Sharifi in the form of a brief narrative describing the nominee's contributions to health sciences librarianship and NCNMLG. The deadline for submissions is April 1st each year and the award will be presented at the spring NCNMLG business meeting.

List of past recipients of the NCNMLG Award for Professional Excellence:

  • 1992 Ysabel Bertolucci
  • 1993 No award presented
  • 1994 Jacqueline Wilson
  • 1995 Leonard Shapiro
  • 1996 Jo Anne Boorkman
  • 1997 Nancy Zinn
  • 1998 No Award Presented
  • 1999 Justine Roberts
  • 2000 George McGregor
  • 2001 Dorrie Slutsker
  • 2002 Rebecca Davis
  • 2003 Linda Grix
  • 2004 Maryann Zaremska
  • 2005 Anne Shew
  • 2006 Terri Malmgren
  • 2007 No award presented
  • 2008 No award presented
  • 2009 Peggy Tahir
  • 2010 No award presented
  • 2011 No award presented
  • 2013 Marcus Banks
  • Emeritus/Emerita Member Status

    An NCNMLG member who has belonged to the Group for at least ten years at the time of retirement may apply for emeritus status by noting their request on the first Membership Renewal form received following retirement.

    Following return of the form and confirmation of the membership informaiton by the Membership Committee, the member will be notified by the Chair of the Awards and Honors Committee that status has been granted. A copy of the awrd letter to hospital librarian applicants will be sent on their behalf to the Hospital Library Section of the Medical LIbrary Association, unless otherwise requested. A copy is also sent to the Membership Chair, to ensure that the member status is updated in the Membership Database.

    Webmaster's email MLA Small Logo